

1983 HALL OF FAME HONOREES



Russell E. Ball

Now retired and serving as President of the Southwestern Tennis Association, Russell started playing tennis in 1928 and won his first tournament in 1931. During his 53-year tournament career, he played in finals of two national championships; semi-finals in five more and quarter-finalist in seven others. He ranked six times in the top ten nationally and has won more Southwestern Sectionals Championships than any other player — 28 in all. At El Paso High he won Boy's Doubles in State Interscholastic League in 1932. He served as Tournament Director or Referee of more than 15 major tournaments in the El Paso area from 1976-1982. He also umpired for finals of tournaments and for professional tour matches in El Paso. Russell is a past president of the Greater El Paso Tennis Association.







Janis Blades Prieto

Janis started diving at the age of 11 and won five City Championships. During her four years at Austin High School, she competed in track and was ranked 1st in the State and 7th in the nation for hurdles in 1969. In her first National Diving Championship she placed 17th out of 120 girls. She quit diving for 7 years to complete her education and to work. Since 1978 she has consistently won gold or silver medals in National AAU Masters Outdoor and Indoor Championships. Even after back surgery in 1979, she went on to win 11 more gold medals. In 1980 she was awarded Female Diver of the Year for the Masters AAU Division and All American. A full-time Registered Nurse, she continues to teach diving to high schoolers. In 1982 she placed second in the Grand Master Class at the AAU National Diving Championships.

Jim Bowden

Jim participated in football, basketball and track at Odessa High School then served four years in the U.S. Navy before graduating from Texas Western College, where he was Captain of the football team. He coached football and basketball at Ysleta High and Bowie. In 1966 he signed on as Assistant Athletic Director and Athletic Business Manager for UT El Paso and in 1973 became the Director of Athletics. Jim headed the establishment of the women's athletic program in the Western Athletic Conference. He had much to do with the new Special Events Center, the playing surface in the Sun Bowl and new training facilities for the university. He is a past president of the El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame and serves on the Board of Directors of Southwestern Athletics.

Tee Casper

Nominated for his 30 years of radio sportscasting, Tee was a San Antonio allcity and all-district football guard in 1932 and played in the San Antonio vs Dallas All-Star Game that year. Enlisting in the Air Corps in 1934, he quarterbacked the Kelly Field Flyers to the 8th Corps Area championship. He started sports announcing in 1935 and through the years has covered Texas League Baseball, boxing, wrestling, high school football, golf, Golden Gloves boxing and Southwest Conference football games. He joined KHEY in 1972. Tee has worked with the El Paso Track and Field Association and helped to develop the UT El Paso Golf Team. He worked on the first UTEP Athletic Banquet and is a former president of the El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame. His capsule football reports are a weekly feature of the Touchdown Club.

John C. Birkhead

John lettered in football and track at Austin High School. At UT El Paso, where he obtained his B.A. and M.A. degrees, he spent two years as football starter on both offense and defense and participated in four years of track. His athletic credits include 14 years of amateur basketball, 12 years of bowling and 14 years of semi-pro baseball. An outstanding softball player for 33 years, he was selected Most Valuable Pitcher in 29 tournaments and was elected Mr. Softball in 1970. He coached football at Austin and Burges High, where he also coached track, golf and cross country for two State Championships. He served 10 years as Assistant Athletic Director for the El Paso Public Schools. He died in 1982 at 52 years of age.

1983 Outstanding Prep Athletes



District 1-5A Barbara Fleming Irvin High School

Robert Pounds Coronado High School

District 2-5A Carol Glover Eastwood High School

Tommy Bonds Bel Air High School

Program

Call to Order and Welcome Bill Green
Invocation
Dinner
Introduction of Head Table
1983 Hall of Fame President Jim Paul
Presentation to Outstanding
District 1-5A Athletes Clay Cox
Barbara Fleming Irvin High School
Robert Pounds Coronado High School
Presentation to Outstanding
District 2-5A Athletes Ruth Meredith
Carol Glover Eastwood High School
Tommy Bonds Bel Air High School
Presentation of 1983 Hall of Fame Honorees
and Acceptance Remarks Bill Green
Russell BallAthlete's Award
Janis Blades Prieto Athlete's Award
Jim Bowden Administrator's Award
Tee Casper Media Award
John Birkhead Posthumous Award
(Acceptance by Mrs. John Birkhead)
Introduction of Guest Speaker Jim Paul
Tom Gorman Supervisor of National
League Umpires
Conclusion of Program

1983 El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame Banquet Sponsors

McCrory's Pharmacy El Paso National Bank ASARCO KHEY-Y96 **KTSM-AM/FM** Mr. & Mrs. Phil Prieto Wilson-Walz Sporting Goods Co. InterFirst Bank El Paso, N.A. El Paso Electric Co. Muzak of El Paso Mission Savings & Loan State National Bank of El Paso Bowlero Lanes Mr. & Mrs. Tom Stone Newspaper Printing Corporation Seitsinger Soft Water Texas Commerce Bank-Border City **Investors Real Estate** Dickshire-Coors

El Paso Livestock Auction Travis Crawford Buick Tovar's Flowers **Investors** International Dr. David M. Carnes Dr. & Mrs. John Edwin D. M. Ware Crinco Investments, Inc. First State Bank Bob Musel Tire Centers Joe Wiessmiller Real Estate El Paso Natural Gas Co. **Richard Fritz GMC** Ouality Trucks Joe Watson, Inc. Larry Mahan Boot Co. Sunset Color Graphics, Inc. First Savings & Loan Eastwood Hospital Terk Distributing Co.

Lindsay Co. of El Paso Courtesy Chevrolet Center, Inc. Harding-Orr & McDaniel Home Mortgage Co. R.C. "Bob" Wilson Farms Dr. & Mrs. W. P. Curtis Charles Crowder J & J Register Co., Inc. United Transmissions **Diamonds** International El Paso-Juarez International Games H & H Car Wash SUNCO Poultry & Egg Co. Sahara Slacks Dick Knapp, Developer de Bruvn-Rettig Advertising Marchese-Weiss Providence Memorial Hospital

N. C. Binyon & Co.

Past Presidents El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame

1956—John Phelan 1957—John Phelan 1958—John Phelan 1959—Bob Ingram 1960—Chuck Whitlock 1961—Harry Phillips 1962—Vernus Carey 1963—Thad Steele 1964—John McFall 1965—Frank Redman
1966—Granville M. Green
1967—Jim Bowden
1968—Jim DeGroat
1969—Bob Goldfarb
1970—Bill Woodul
1971—Bert Williams
1972—Dick de Bruyn
1973—Frank Porth
1974—Ben Collins

1975—Don O'Neil 1976—John Thompson 1977—Maynard Haddad 1978—Harris Hatfield 1979—Billy Stevens 1980—Dr. "Pinkey" Edwin 1981—Tee Casper 1982—"Lucky" Leverett 1983—Jim Paul